STAAR includes annual assessments in the following subjects, grades, and courses:

  • mathematics at grades 3–8
  • reading at grades 3–8
  • writing at grades 4 and 7
  • science at grades 5 and 8
  • social studies at grade 8
  • EOC assessments for algebra I, English I, English II, biology, and U.S. history

STAAR algebra II and English III assessments are available for districts to administer on an optional basis as postsecondary readiness measures.

STAAR Spanish

STAAR Spanish is available for English language learners (ELLs) in grades 3–5 for whom an assessment in Spanish provides the most appropriate measure of academic progress. Language proficiency assessment committees (LPACs) are responsible for making assessment decisions for ELLs, and must make and document test participation decisions in accordance with STAAR program requirements.

For additional information, visit the Language Proficiency Assessment Committee Resources web page located on the TEA website.

For More Information

More information about the development, design, and format of the STAAR program, and how the STAAR program measures the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) curriculum standards, can be found on the STAAR Resources web page located on the TEA website.

Go to the STAAR Resources Page